Choose to be Holy 

Today I was sitting and thinking about how I wasn’t “happy” like I typically am.. It hurt to face that. In denial I swayed toward it is just a bad day. Then, it struck me. I haven’t been seeking Jesus fully. I’ve let small things creep up. I’ve picked up things that I’ve already put down at the foot of the cross. This is a hard thing to admit to yourself much less broadcast, but it’s so true. I feel like many others around me are facing this same reality. The enemy is real. His attacks are real. But God is bigger. God is greater. I choose to run after Jesus. I wanna know Him. When someone ask me who my best friend is I want to respond confidently, “Jesus.” God should be our go to, not our last resort. 
So many times we claim to love and follow Jesus, but yet we aren’t following the way He has provided us. People I’ll be the first to tell you I fail (but I get back up), I sin (but I repent), and I’m nothing without God. 
John 14:15 If you love me, keep my commands. 
We must know that we all fail and fall short (Romans 3:23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God). Also, we must first truly understand and realize how broken, sinful, and in need we are; so that we will truly seek holiness and God’s heart. 
I am convinced that the first step towards attaining a higher standard of holiness is to realize more fully the amazing sinfulness of sin. – J.C. Ryle
Without holiness on earth we shall never be prepared to enjoy heaven. Heaven is a holy place. The Lord of heaven is a holy Being. The angels are holy creatures. Holiness is written on everything in heaven… How shall we ever be at home and happy in heaven if we die unholy? – J.C. Ryle 
Nothing of this world brings peace, comfort, joy, understanding, wisdom, and purpose like being holy. We must strive to be more holy and Christlike each day. Each day we should be eager to know more and grow closer to the Lord. If we aren’t holy, we will never be face to face with the Lord. 
John 3:30 He must become greater; I must become less. 
Hebrews 12:14 Make every effort to live in peace with everyone and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord.
I want to encourage all of you to think about the coming day. Also, think about what you will say to the Lord.

When you take these things into account, then sit and meditate on them. I believe you will have a longing and deep desire to become more holy. 
  Prayer: Lord, I’m sorry for picking up things I’ve already put down. Will you please forgive me? I know your ways are higher than mine and you have a great calling on my life. Today I choose to walk by faith and run in full speed towards fulfilling that calling. Lead me, be my guide. I want to know more of you each day. In Jesus name, Amen. 

Leave a Reply

