Be you, bravely. 

There is only one you, so work it!

Disclaimer: the majority of the why behind this post is because I need to read it. I need to hear these things. I’m not typing these things because I have it all together, I’m typing them out because there is a chance someone is facing the things I’m facing. 

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2

It seems like so many times in life we are constantly wanting to be something, and a lot of times these things don’t align with what God has for us. In that moment, when what you want to be and where God has put you don’t align, we start to question things. I’m guilty of it. But when I type that out it sounds so silly. Why would I question God? He made the universe… but I let it cross my mind that He has somehow messed up on me and my story. Now you might not directly think that, but we’ve all questioned certain things. Why do I have straight hair? Why did I not land that job? Why am I not engaged? Why don’t I have a boyfriend? Why don’t they want to be my friend? Why do I struggle with this? Why, just why? So many times questions like that take over our mind and when they do the enemy creeps in. He lies to us. He does everything he can, in that moment, to pull us away from God and what He has for us. This is why it’s so important to know who you are. You have value. You are part of God’s plan. Without YOU, God’s plan wouldn’t look the same. When we fill our heads with those types of questions, when jealousy gets the best of us, when envy is relevant in our lives we decrease value in the role God has for us. In turn, that leads to us not pursuing the role God has for us. 

You, individually, are uniquely loved by God. Not equally loved, uniquely loved. That’s huge. That means that God (or anyone) can’t measure the love He has for you. His love is immeasurable. He loves infinitely. His love is pure. His love is unconditional. He is love. He made you to love and spend time with. He made you perfectly to fit into His perfect plan. He knew when He created you what you would do and how you would glorify His kingdom. He made no one like you. He made you to be you! You are part of God’s puzzle. 

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10

A few weeks back, I started reading a book called Without Rival. I am still reading the book, and the further I get into it the more I realize. I’ve realized that I have unintentional idols. I’ve realized my intentions aren’t always what I think they are, and that I need to do some digging. I’ve realized there are things that if I’m not careful hinder my relationship with the Lord. I’ve realized how flawed I am (…not because God messed up when He created me, but because sin and the enemy are real). Wow, the enemy and sin are so real… but that’s another topic. We can talk on that later. I’ve realized that I’m in competition with no one (this is something I need to remind myself often). That’s a hard thing to realize, especially when you’re a girl. I’ve realized God made me with a vision. I’m a very analytical person and like to know the why… so this isn’t always easy for me to wrap my mind around. Especially when the way things are going just don’t seem ‘right’ or ‘fair.’ And the list goes on… 

I say all this to encourage you, whoever is reading this, to be YOU. God made you and loves you just the way you are. Be authentic. Be real. Be intentional. Be transparent. Be original. Be [insert your name here]. Just rest in knowing God made you the way He wanted you, and even though you might not see it now you were made for this. AND to read Without Rival by Lisa Bevere.  

PRAYER: Lord, I come to you today with a thankful heart. I’m thankful that you made me with a purpose, and that you wanted me to be part of your puzzle. Help me to be me. I need you. Help me to step in to what you’re calling me to do and to appreciate the process. I love you and I trust you. In Jesus’ name, amen. 

Leave a Reply

