Be Still

Do you ever feel like every way that you turn there is an obstacle you must face? There is always something: a friend is hurting, a family member is sick, you face a tragedy, you didn’t get that dream job, you aren’t clear on your calling…

Whatever it may be, God placed you in that moment for a reason. He placed you in the moment you’re in right now for a reason. Trust that He is going to work it out. I can promise you this, God is up to something or the enemy would not be fighting this hard. Confusion, frustration, repression, worry, fear, anxiety… are all things the enemy plants in you to try and wreck God’s plan. Stand strong in the Lord. He will sustain you. Listen to Him. After all, you are His child.

 

Be still and know that I am God. (Psalm 46:10)

 

When was the last time you sat quietly in your room? Not because you felt excluded or because you were experiencing anger and frustration, but simply with the intentions to be still.

If you’re anything like me, this doesn’t come naturally. I’ve found myself asking (expecting a response)… Almost to the point of a beg. God, what do I do? Where do you want me? I trust you, but… I think it is safe to say, we’ve all been there.

 

Question: How can we expect answers and help, if we aren’t willing to fully trust Him?

Answer: We can’t.

 

The quieter we become, the more we can hear. With that being said, I just want to encourage you to be still… Lean in, and focus on what God is trying to tell you. Let Him lead you. How awesome would it be to turn from a fast pace world, feeding you lies, to a God who is ready to whisper to you, as your best friend?

 

The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still. (Exodus 14:14)

 

This subject has been heavy on my heart, for both myself and those around me, for past few months. It is so easy to get caught up in continually asking and pleading with the Lord. Often we get so consumed with everything around us that we forget to be still. Being still is a prerequisite. Embark on the calm sea. Listen to Him, listen for His voice. Surrender those thoughts that are holding you down. Let God be your guide, He will come crashing over with waves of peace. Sit in an attitude of silence and prayer and He will meet you there.

 

Be still before the Lord
 and wait patiently for him;
 do not fret when people succeed in their ways,
 when they carry out their wicked schemes. (Psalm 37:7)

 

Prayer: Lord, forgive me for getting so caught up in the lies of the enemy that I forget to be still and listen to you. He is tricky and rather convincing. I rebuke every lie the enemy is telling me in Jesus name. Guard me. I know you’re bigger than everything I face, help me to rest in that. I love you Lord. Thank you for loving me in the midst of my mess.

 

Leave a Reply

