King of the World

I tried to fit you in the walls inside my mind. I try to keep you safely in between the lines. I try to put you in the box that I’ve designed. I try to pull you down so we are eye to eye. 

Just a whisper of your voice can tame the seas. So who am I to try to take the lead. Still I run ahead and think I’m strong enough. When you’re the one who made me from the dust

Ohhhh, you set it all in motion… Every single moment. You brought it all to me…And you’re holding on to me. 

When did I forget that you’ve always been the king of the world? I try to take life back right out of the hands of the king of the world. How could I make you so small when you’re the one who holds it all? When did I forget you’ve always been the king of the world? You will always be the king of the world. | King of the World – Natalie Grant |

This song! Wow. It’s so simple, yet hits home every time. It’s so convicting and wrecks me in the best way possible. I’m personally so guilty of trying to align God and what He has for me with what’s convenient. Whether it be staying quiet when I know I need to speak up, trying on my own before I hit my knees to pray, letting myself go places where I know temptation lives, the list goes on… we are all guilty of it. But why? Why would we do this to ourselves when we could whole heatedly pursue the King? 

God holds it all. God created it all. God has gone before you and made a way. God has solutions before we even know there is a problem. Why is it that we try to take the lead? Why is it so hard to let go and let God? We’re not on the same level as God, and will never come close. God is smarter than us. God’s plan far exceeds ours. Although He is so great, he longs to know us. He longs to have deep, intimate relationship. 

Yet, Lord my God, give attention to your servant’s prayer and his plea for mercy. Hear the cry and the prayer that your servant is praying in your presence. 2 Chronicles 6:19

Draw near to God and He will draw near to you… James 4:8

The LORD is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth. Psalm 145:18

But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit. Jeremiah 17:7-8

I want to encourage anyone reading this to strive to be more like Christ each day. Cry out to God. Pray expectantly. Seek God. Know God – Jesus died to know you. Endeavor each day to grow in relationship. Fix your eyes on Jesus. Trust God. After all, He created the universe and everything in it. Take a stand for the one who has always stood by you. 

Prayer: Search my heart. Reveal the things that need to be revealed, Lord. I don’t want to do this on my own, I want your help, guidance, and grace. Set my desires to align with yours. In Jesus’ name, amen. 

Leave a Reply

